Digital Literacies … My Passion Motivates Me

Image

Being in ETMOOC is like being at a fabulous movie at home snuggled in my basement watching a movie of my choice on the big screen. Those of you in ETMOOC will understand what I am saying.

  • I can learn in a comfortable place
  • I can choose what and how I want to learn
  • There are so many things I can choose from
  • I can even get up move around, put things on pause and come back to enjoy what I am doing
  • I decide if what I am doing is useful to me. I get to take what I like and leave the rest
  • I am constantly learning even if I am not fully aware of the learning at the time
  • I can sit back , relax , and absolutely enjoy the anticipation and the experience
  • It is so enjoyable I do not look forward to it ending

The reason I am even getting better at technology is that I wanted to learn how technology could help me with my Comprehensive School Counselling Program.

I love what I do and technology is able to move me to what Doug Belshaw calls moving from digital elegance to remix.

T3S1: Digital Literacies with Dr. Doug Belshaw (#etmooc)

Certainly a few years ago I would not have believed that possible. I dabbled with technology the same way a small child would and because the tools are easier and easier I grew with the changes.

As Doug Belshaw says, “I think Mozilla understands that digital literacy is a condition, but not a threshold. It affects your identity because every time you are given a new tool, it gives you a different way of impacting upon the world.” I have found this to be more accurate as I move through this ETMOOC and try more and more ways of communicating. Being able to utilize a variety of tools has allowed me to assist students and school counsellors in a way I did not realize was possible.

I look forward in the next few weeks to be able to understand the essential elements of digital literacies in an even deeper way. Thanks to the School Counselling and ETMOOC communities, I will develop literacies and grow and change as a school counsellor which can only affect the students I serve in a positive way.

I look forward to learning more about digital literacies in blackboard collaborate tonight with Doug. Check out his TED video:

2 thoughts on “Digital Literacies … My Passion Motivates Me

  1. Hi Susan. That’s a very clever graphic you made 🙂 to illustrate your point. It’s been evident to me that you’ve been enjoying yourself from the Tweets and blog posts you’ve written. I see you as being in the movie and stepping out once in awhile. We’ve all got our roles – some make cameo appearances while others seem to have a more time in the dialogue and action. Thanks for bringing out those points at the beginning of your post. I’ve been somewhat distracted the past week and a half and your comments have encouraged me to remember the freedom we have in ETMOOC to enter in at our own leisure, pace, etc.

  2. Thanks Glenn. I really am enjoying my first MOOC. It helps that I have colleagues who share my enthusiasm. I appreciate your reflection. I like that there are no right or wrongs in this MOOC . The fact that we can learn as we see fit and meet our own personal goals is what I so greatly appreciate. No pressure, just learning because I really want to learn.

    Sometimes I don’t make any comments in posts,but that does not mean I have not reflected on what someone has said. I appreciate all who are willing to share and love the freedom to share or not. Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback.

Leave a comment